The Oscars: Best Original Screenplay

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY


Nominees:

American Hustle
Blue Jasmine
Dallas Buyers Club
Her
Nebraska

I’m not going to go into great detail by breaking down each movie and why it will or will not win. Instead, I will just predict who I want to win and why. 


Looking at this list I see three potential winners for this category; American Hustle, Her and Nebraska. I can almost count Nebraska out right from the beginning because I think the previous two mentioned are bigger players for this category. I ultimately predict that Her will win just based on how well the entire story is thought out and not mention the level of freshness it brings to a typical love story, but with a twist. Spike Jonze did an excellent job creating a world in the not-so-distant future that is not only believable, but also a place where I actually want to live. But it’s not just the world, it’s the simple nuances of everyday life that truly stand out onscreen; the fashion, the lack of cars, the vibrant colors, the self-aware operating systems. All of it is amazing, almost to the point where you find the actually people in the movie boring compared to all that is around them. 
All of these things just add to Her‘s originality. The love story between Twomby (the main character) and Samantha (the OS) is completely believable. As I watched, I actually convinced myself that it sounded no different than that of a couple that was trying to learn each other and grow through a long distance relationship. Jonze did THAT good of a job on the dialogue between the two. It was truly something that is easy to spot when it goes wrong, but somehow never strayed into quirkiness or the obscure despite its subject matter. Even further so, in the third act there is a bit of a twist which is sad, and yet still believable given that we are watching both a human and an operating system evolve.
As I said before, I believe that this is a close race between American Hustle and Her, but I see Her pulling out the win on Oscar night based upon how unique a take on the typical love story Jonze was able to create and successfully show. This is one of those categories that I wish they would show who won 2nd and 3rd place just to create more tension. I’m excited to see this one play out. 
AND THE OSCAR GOES TO…………..

Leave a Reply

