ABC Upfronts

Last week all the major television networks decided to roll out their 2015 Fall Lineups. This is called “Upfronts.” It’s basically where each network sits a bunch of high ranking ad executives for major corporations in a room and shows them trailers/sizzle reels of their newly created shows in hopes of securing ad space from these companies. It’s a nutty process that has been going on for years and has helped shaped the television landscape to much of what we see today, which can be both good and bad. However, with Upfronts drawing to a close it is up to the public to determine what they actually want to watch this Fall. Here at The Mental Vacation, who would be if we didn’t throw our opinions into the ring………..but obviously with a twist that only we could give you

   We present to you:

THE GARY SCALE

What the heck is a “Gary Scale?

The Gary Scale is a carefully crafted tool that helps measure The Mental Vacation’s excitement about a particular project having to do with TV and Film. In this case, the 2015 Fall Upfronts are measured as such using this scale. It is as follows;

Scale

This scale covers a full range of emotions when deciding how excited to be about upcoming projects and/or events. The best part is not having to explain the scale. You can clearly see from Gary’s facial expressions just how excited you should be. He’s done all the work for you! From this point forward, we plan on using this to gauge all of our reactions and anticipations for the world of TV and FILM. So, here’s to our great friend Gary…and his face. Let’s get to it shall we?

Dr. Ken

 

Oliver:

I will watch this because I love Ken Jeong. And this is the first time he really has had a lead part. So for that alone I will watch this. But It will score lower on the Gary Scale because of the over use of Laugh tracks. So I give it a 3.

 G3

Flanny: 

I’m in. I’m happy that Asian Americans are actually getting some prominent prime time love on cable. It looks overproduced and somewhat hammy, but I need a “checkout” show. What will be difficult will be getting past the laugh track. I give this 3 Garys.

G3

THE MUPPETS

Oliver:

I watched the Muppets growing up. My family loves it. I love it. And the last movie was hilarious. Even though this looks like a “The Office” style kind of show. Its funny but over used. I’m going to have to give it slightly higher on the Gary scale only because of nostalgia. So I give it 4 Garys.

G4

Flanny:

I will easily give this the “4ep Rule.” It honestly looks like the Muppets version of 30 Rock and my only skepticism is how many ways can you try and reinvent The Office or Parks & Rec? I don’t mean for this to sound overly negative and I’ll trudge through the first season, but I’m not expecting this to last. I give it: 2 Garys

G2

The Real O’Neals

 

Oliver: 

I love that this trailer teaches how crazy life can get when you are honest. Catholic family, Divorce, and a Gay son? Sounds Hilarious. I will easily give this the 4 ep rule. And on that I give it 3 Garys.

G3

Flanny:

Funny(ish). I’m in…for a while at least. The premise looks like it could provide some laughs on a semi-consistent basis, but I’m curious to where the story actually goes. It will get the FOUR EPISODE treatment. I give this 3 Garys.

G3

Uncle Buck

 

Oliver: 

Mike Epps has fallen off the train. I will not watch this.

I give it my first one Gary.

G1

Flanny:

Nah…I’m good. It’s just not for me. I like Mike Epps, but it honestly doesn’t look like it could keep my attention for longer than…oh…I dunno….3 minutes. I give this 1 Gary.

G1

The Catch

 

Oliver: 

As I watch “From the creators of Scandal and How To Get Away With Murder” pass on my screen I can only think NOPE. I don’t want to have anything to do with this show. That being said, It looked interesting but I think it would make a better movie not show. So on that I give it a 1 on the Gary scale.

G1

Flanny:

Nope. Shonda Rimes….meh. It looks semi-interesting, but I’m familiar with Rimes’ work enough to know when to cash in my chips. She’ll ruin it somehow. This show will have a good first season and then Rimes won’t know what to do in season two resulting in overblown plotlines. It’s not a bad idea for a show, but would make for a better movie. I give this 2 Garys.

G2

The Family

Oliver:

Pass.

G1

Flanny:

Nope. I don’t do missing kids. And trust me, it’s killing me inside that I can’t support my FNL alumni Matt Saracen on this. Texas Forever…..except this time. I give this 1 Gary.

G1

Of Kings and Prophets

Oliver: 

This show caught my attention because it is biblical and looked decent. But the thing about Biblical shows is that normally they are not good or very un-true. But this show seemed, as it was less un-true than others. Easily I will give this show the 4 EP rule. And going with the 4 ep rule I will also give it a 4 on the Gary Scale as one of the only dramas I might watch from ABC.

G4

Flanny:

I love period pieces and this takes place in Biblical times. I’m not sure how long a show like this will actually last, but I am interested. Despite not seeing this turn into multiple seasons, I could see this growing into something…..that is….at least until ABC asks Shonda Rimes to write season two. I give this 4 Garys.

G4

OIL

 

Oliver:

I thought this was called “There will be blood?” No in reality I dont think this will be good week to week. So ill wait till its on Netflix and then still not watch it. Two Garys. 

G2

Flanny:

From the title alone…meh? Story looks alright and I kinda want to watch it. I might actually give it a downgraded “2ep Rule” just for this article. I give this show 2 Garys.

G2

Quantico

 

Oliver: 

Why do they keep putting out shows that we have to figure out who did it when the main person is blamed? We do not care anymore. One Gary. 

G1

Flanny:

How many “Homelands” will it take until they actually get this premise right? I would like this show more if it were just about the FBI training grounds. That’s actually interesting. I can tell you that after watching all of these trailers from the networks, I am experiencing fatigue in the COP/DOCTOR dramas. I give this show 1 Gary. 

G1

Wicked City

 

Oliver: 

MURDER? This is another one of those tv shows that I feel like I would have a better chance of watching it if it was a movie. The show looks like it could be liked. But not by me or most people. I have to give this show a one on the Gary Scale.

G1

Flanny:

Nope. L.A. Crime Drama set in the 1980s…..looks uninteresting. Should be a 10ep mini-series. I give this 1 Gary.

G1

Leave a Reply

