NBC Upfronts

Last week all the major television networks decided to roll out their 2015 Fall Lineups. This is called “Upfronts.” It’s basically where each network sits a bunch of high ranking ad executives for major corporations in a room and shows them trailers/sizzle reels of their newly created shows in hopes of securing ad space from these companies. It’s a nutty process that has been going on for years and has helped shaped the television landscape to much of what we see today, which can be both good and bad. However, with Upfronts drawing to a close it is up to the public to determine what they actually want to watch this Fall. Here at The Mental Vacation, who would be if we didn’t throw our opinions into the ring………..but obviously with a twist that only we could give you

   We present to you:

THE GARY SCALE

What the heck is a “Gary Scale?

The Gary Scale is a carefully crafted tool that helps measure The Mental Vacation’s excitement about a particular project having to do with TV and Film. In this case, the 2015 Fall Upfronts are measured as such using this scale. It is as follows;

Scale

This scale covers a full range of emotions when deciding how excited to be about upcoming projects and/or events. The best part is not having to explain the scale. You can clearly see from Gary’s facial expressions just how excited you should be. He’s done all the work for you! From this point forward, we plan on using this to gauge all of our reactions and anticipations for the world of TV and FILM. So, here’s to our great friend Gary…and his face. Let’s get to it shall we?

People Are Talking

Oliver:

I want to watch the first episode just to see the outcome. If I like it by the end I might stay for at least 4 eps. If not…We will see I give it 2 Garys. 

G2

Flanny:

Using a laugh track on a TV show is God-awful. I like Mark Paul Gosslar and maybe I’m still in mourning from Franklin & Bash getting cancelled, but the laugh track just takes me completely out of this show. Otherwise, it doesn’t look that bad. I might give it a “2ep Rule.” I give this show 2 Garys.

G2

Blindspot

 

Oliver: 

I like the idea of this show. But i have no idea how they can make this a whole season let alone a second season. Im gonna let my friend Chris watch this and let him tell me if I should try it. I think I feel safe giving this 3 Garys.

G3

Flanny:

I want to support Lady Sif (Thor). Premise of the show looks semi-interesting, but if this is taken from the first episode, then what is the rest of the season? I could see this being a procedural where each episode is a dealing with a new tattoo. To be honest, I’ve seen worse. I’m in though….should be an entertaining watch. Nothing deep, that’s for sure. I give this 3 Garys.

G3

Heartbreaker

Oliver: 

I don’t do Hospital Dramas. Especially this one. If I could just not give it any Gary’s I would. But I’ll give it one because It need something.

G1

Flanny:

Boring. A strong women struggling in the workplace…..oh….and don’t forget….she’s a doctor (not a cop this time). Nope. Nope. Nope. The market for this type of show is just oversaturated. I give this 1 Gary.

G1

The Player

 

Oliver:

This is the kind of show that Ill watch as it comes out but forget about it and never think twice. But for now I’ll watch it. Reminds me kinda of “The Purge: Anarchy”. This is a hard 3 Gary’s.

G3

Flanny:

I’m in. It looks like an easy watch that will be a weekly procedural aka doesn’t require much thinking. I’m actually in need of a late-night Thursday show or a Friday Hulu watch so this fits the bill. I give this 3 Garys, but could turn into 4 Garys.

G3

Heroes Reborn

Oliver: 

I will watch anything Heroes. I dont have to know anything to watch anything Heros. So I will watch this without any hesitation. 5 Garys. 

G5

Flanny:

 I don’t need a 16sec trailer to make me watch this show. I was in even before it was announced. Why? Because I need better closure that’s why! People point to Heroes being a bad show in the end. I think they did the best with what they could considering the writer’s strike decimated its staff and they were left picking up the plotlines and pieces. I give this 5 Garys.

G5

TRAILERS NOT AVAILABLE YET:

 Coach

Crowded

Hot and Bothered

You, Me and the End of the World

Game of Silence

Shades of Blue

Leave a Reply

