Fox Upfronts

   Last week all the major television networks decided to roll out their 2015 Fall Lineups. This is called “Upfronts.” It’s basically where each network sits a bunch of high ranking ad executives for major corporations in a room and shows them trailers/sizzle reels of their newly created shows in hopes of securing ad space from these companies. It’s a nutty process that has been going on for years and has helped shaped the television landscape to much of what we see today, which can be both good and bad. However, with Upfronts drawing to a close it is up to the public to determine what they actually want to watch this Fall. Here at The Mental Vacation, who would be if we didn’t throw our opinions into the ring………..but obviously with a twist that only we could give you

   We present to you:

THE GARY SCALE

What the heck is a “Gary Scale?

The Gary Scale is a carefully crafted tool that helps measure The Mental Vacation’s excitement about a particular project having to do with TV and Film. In this case, the 2015 Fall Upfronts are measured as such using this scale. It is as follows;

Scale

   This scale covers a full range of emotions when deciding how excited to be about upcoming projects and/or events. The best part is not having to explain the scale. You can clearly see from Gary’s facial expressions just how excited you should be. He’s done all the work for you! From this point forward, we plan on using this to gauge all of our reactions and anticipations for the world of TV and FILM. So, here’s to our great friend Gary…and his face. Let’s get to it shall we?

The Frankenstein Code

 

Oliver:

It’s funny as I watched this show all I could think, “I can’t wait to watch this on Netflix.” This looks like it could be good but I’ll let someone else take that bullet for me. The whole future thing worries me a little too. Like it could be amazing or be horrible. 3 Garys for you!!

G3

Flanny: 

Have you seen the preview for the summer movie, “Self/Less?” You haven’t??? Well, I suggest you watch it and then come back and watch this trailer. One in the same. Fox is getting ballsy after the success of Sleepy Hollow and are throwing there hat into the weird category of TV Shows. If it works, great but it if doesn’t, everyone along with myself should be protesting outside their offices to bring back Almost Human…..God, I miss that show. I give this show 3 Garys.

G3

Grandfathered

 

Oliver: 

John Stamos? Yes thank you! 4 Garys!

G4

Flanny: 

I’m completely in. This looks fun and funny. It looks to be a great watch across an entire season not just from one episode. Josh Peck is slightly annoying because I can never unsee that Nickelodeon over-actor, but he looks manageable in this role. I give this show 4 Garys.

G4

The Grinder

 

Oliver: 

I felt bad when watching this because I did not recognize Fred Savage. But I will give anything Rob Lowe’s in a chance. Looks very funny. And I always love it when people are over confident in things they are not good at. So here goes nothing. I give this 4 Garys. 

G4

Flanny: 

Fred Savage. Check. Rob Lowe. Check. Potentially funny courtroom show. Check. It’s no secret I’m still sad over the canceling of Franklin and Bash so I need another funny and carefree courtroom show. This looks like it could fill that void. #fingerscrossed I will easily give it the “4ep Rule” and hopefully FOX doesn’t find a way to screw it up. I give this 5 Garys

G5

Lucifer

 

Oliver:

I’m glad that this show is not on CW. That gives me hope. On that alone, this show deserves the 4ep Rule. Plus I have always loved the name Lucifer. Sooo I guess here goes nothing! 4 Garys!

G4

Flanny:

Why does it always have to be Cops? Lawyers? or Doctors? You could easily plug and play this plot into any one of those professions and you have the exact same show. That being said, I’m still planning on giving 4 episodes because my curiosity is piqued. If it can navigate the minefield that is Television Clichés, then it should be an alright watch. However, they aren’t off to a great start with having Lucifer have a British accent to seem more mysterious/evil. I give this show 3 Garys. 

G3

Minority Report

 

Oliver:

My question is “WHY DO THEY KEEP MAKING MOVIES INTO TV SHOWS?” Like How many times does this have to fail for it to work? Though I do feel a bit like a hypocrite because I know one show I’m going to watch based off a tv show. But I guess you will have to see TV show I’m talking about tomorrow. I give this tv movie show 1 Gary. 

G1

Flanny:

Nah…I’m good. Should’ve left it a movie. It’s a decent premise for a show, but from the trailer it looks like they didn’t do enough with the story to further it from the film. I see it lasting one season and being cancelled shortly after. I give this 1 Gary.

G1

Rosewood

Oliver:

I swear I have seen this exact tv show before. Solid Pass. 1 Gary.

G1

Flanny:

Another cop/doctor show, but wait, this one’s different….it’s in MIAMI! I’m good. I don’t need another garbage show with a talented professional with a __________ (insert: dark past, secret, condition, etc.) I give this show 1 Gary.

G1

Bordertown

 

Oliver:

You know it’s bad when I an avid Family Guy watcher says “Ehh pass“. Looks like it will be more racist than his other shows which is saying something. Sooo 1 Gary it is.

 G1

Flanny:

NOPE. I’m all tapped out on animated shows. Rick and Morty is all I need in that realm. They lost me at, “From the creator of Family Guy, Seth McFarlane.” Fox, please stop enabling him to make more of these things. It’s too much. I would like to give this NEGATIVE GARYS, but that’s not available so I give this show 1 Gary.

G1

Leave a Reply

