Summer Movie Preview

 

 

 

Summer is finally here and with it comes a plethora of movies. Some of them we’re excited for. Some we’ve not asked for. And some will just come out of nowhere and surprise us…I’m looking at you Swiss Army Man (summer 2016 release). Below is a breakdown of some of the summer films that I intend to see opening night, delay until I can stream or just avoid entirely.

 

 Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Gotg2

 

By now you not only should’ve read my write up on this movie, but have already seen it. Excellent start to the summer and such a fun watch!

 

VERDICT: SEE IT (TWICE)

 

 

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

 

arthur-header-34

 

 

Another film which is already out and I’ve already written a review and after seeing it in theaters I can safely recommend that you could wait for it.

 

VERDICT: STREAM IT

 

 

 

Alien: Covenant

 

Alien-1

 

A follow up to Prometheus and the 2nd installment in an Alien prequel trilogy, this sci-fi thriller was just okay as a follow up. It had interesting potential and left the story in a very interesting place, but ultimately took a too long and predictable road to get there. 

 

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

Baywatch

May 25th

 

baywatch

 

There’s something to be said for a summer R-rated comedy, if done well. Baywatch looks like it wants to be the next 21 Jump Street and only time and box office numbers will tell if that does indeed come true. Either way, I’m seeing it opening weekend.

 

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

May 25th

 

Pirates DMTNT

 

I get frustrated with this franchise, however, I love watching these movies. I will see this in theaters, but WHEN is the key. One of two things will happen: 1. I see it after Baywatch on opening weekend. 2. I wait until a lesser movie release weekend in the schedule and see it then and I can even predict when that would be….June 16th.

 

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

 

Wonder Woman

June 2nd

 

Wonder Woman

 

Yes. Yes. Yes. No question this needs to be seen. I fully admit that I am a DC film lover with no regrets about it so this is without a doubt a film I’m looking forward to seeing.

 

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

 

THE MUMMY

June 9th

 

the mummy

 

While the movie doesn’t exactly look great, what else am I gonna see on that weekend? Plus, it’s Tom Cruise. He is one of three male actors that I love in pretty much everything they do and know that this will be semi-entertaining…..so…..I’m in, but hesitantly.

 

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

CARS 3

June 16

Cars 3

   No thank you. I didn’t really care for either of the first two. 

VERDICT: NOPE

 

 

 

All EYEZ ON ME

June 16

All eyez on me

 I really do want to see this movie not only because I love a great biopic but also because I am very interested in how they tell Tupac’s story. The trailer looks absolutely amazing, however, I do not believe I will be seeing this in theaters.

VERDICT: STREAM IT

 

 

TRANSFORMERS: THE LAST KNIGHT

June 21

Transformer The last knight

   I really really don’t want to see this, but I have this dark feeling in the back of my mind that I will somehow end up in a theater during its opening weekend and shortly hate myself afterwards. Optimus Prime going rogue on his own kind is not something I want to sit through, but yet again Michael Bay has this way of getting my butt in a theater seat. I’m already hanging my head in shame…

VERDICT: STREAM IT

 

 

 

THE BIG SICK

June 21

The Big Sick

   This looks interesting and is based off of Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani’s real life relationship. I love Kumail’s work and will see this but I can safely say that this will be a watch in the Fall when I am in between TV shows. 

VERDICT: STREAM IT

 

 

 

Baby Driver

June 28

Baby Driver

   From writer/director Edgar Wright, which is all I really need to see a movie from him. Baby Driver appears to be a version of the film, Drive, but with more dialogue and a little bit lighter on the romantic side. That is not a knock, however, I have high expectations for this film and hope to not be disappointed. 

VERDICT: SEE IT

THE HOUSE

June 30

The House

   I can easily tell you this is a theater watch for me. Will Ferrell in the middle of the summer is a must! I know by the time this comes out I will be needing a comedy and The House, boasting an amazing cast, looks to be the one to help me with that need. Done and done.

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

 

 DESPICABLE ME 3

June 30

Despicable Me 3

   I enjoy these movies. I do not enjoy paying to see these movies. I am not a fan of the Minions, but Gru and Co. are really the draw for me so I know I will see this, however it will be a coin flip as to whether or not I take my family or somehow hold out until after summer to stream it. Pray it’s the latter…

VERDICT: STREAM IT

 

 

 

SPIDERMAN: HOMECOMING

July 5

spider-man

   While I never saw the need for a complete reboot, I still like the new approach with Tom Holland and hope that they don’t lean on the Tony Stark crutch too much for this film. It might just be the previews, but I will be there opening weekend. No question.

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

 

WAR FOR THE PLANET OF THE APES

July 14

War apes

    I don’t really care for the Apes series of films, but there’s something to marvel at with the technology used to create them and that’s worth the price of admission alone. I feel as if I’ve seen this movie done and done again with its prior installments so I am a little on the fence with this one. 

VERDICT: STREAM IT

 

 

 

DUNKIRK

July 21

Dunkirk

   Christopher Nolan. Summer Release. WWII film. YEP, I’m there. No questions are needed with this one. To be honest, I didn’t even need to see a trailer. All I needed was a release date. I will be there opening weekend and then shortly after that for a second viewing.

VERDICT: SEE IT  

 

 

 

VALERIAN AND THE CITY OF 1,000 PLANETS

July 21

Valerian_3dH4h1H

   This looks dangerously close to John Carter or Jupiter Ascending territory, but something about it just looks more 5th Element than the aforementioned. Because of that I will definitely see it, but most likely not in theaters. 

VERDICT: STREAM IT

 

 

 

ATOMIC BLONDE

July 28

atomic blonde

   Female John Wick……SOLD! The trailer helps the film look good and I’m really excited for this movie. It will be a fun end of the summer watch. 

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

 

THE DARK TOWER

August 4

the-dark-tower-poster

  I know nothing about this adaptation from Stephen King’s series except for what the trailer tells me, but I will see this easily based not only on the source material but also the actors involved. I’m in…

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

 

THE HITMAN’S BODYGUARD

August 18

hitmanbodyguardtiny

    Fun. Entertaining. Solid actors and a semi-decent story. This doesn’t look like anything deep or emotional which is perfect for this time in the summer months. The trailer makes the movie look like it has its fair share of funny moments. I’m excited for seeing this. 

VERDICT: SEE IT

 

 

 

 

There you have it. The full list of movies this summer. Looking over my decisions, I think i am going to have pretty decent summer at the theater.

SEE IT –  13 Movies

STREAM IT – 7 Movies

NOPE – 1 Movie

 

Top 5 movies I’m looking forward to this summer:

 

5.   atomic blonde

4. Pirates DMTNT

 

3. spider-man

 

2. Dunkirk

 

 

1.  Wonder Woman

 

 

Here’s to a great summer of movies. Fingers crossed that we will find ourselves on the right side of August looking back at a great movie season!

Leave a Reply

