It Comes At Night – Review

 

 

 

 

It’s been several weeks since I’ve seen It Comes At Night and I have not been able to decide if I liked it or not.

It Comes At Night has a very interesting story set within an even more intriguing world that supposedly has fallen apart. It forces you to watch seemingly normal people descend down a path of madness and emerge as people who would not recognize themselves in a mirror any longer. That journey demands your attention all the way until the end, but it’s a worthy look at what drives people to do certain things in the name of family.

The cinematography is something of note as it chooses to focus on the vivid colors of nature and taking a very simplistic approach towards camera movements. It is simple, yet effective and that might be partially due to it being an indie film with a lack of budget, however, the result is something beautiful and striking.

At the heart of it all it is the actors that drive the film. This should go without having to be stated but Joel Edgerton, Christopher Abbott and the rest of the cast do all of the heavy lifting of this less is more-esque script. There are subtleties in the facial expressions and noticeably unscripted moments that provide a raw reaction to the problem(s) being dealt with during the film. In short, they’re excellent and add a layer of interest to a decent film.

    Would I recommend it to anyone?

Probably not.

Did I enjoy it?

Perhaps???

There were some incredibly gut-wrenching and suspenseful moments that created such a feeling of unrelenting tension that the movie deserves some level of credit. However, from start to finish, the film was lacking slightly in its ability to payoff the audience with a rewarding ending. In short, it left you wanting which in turn left you, the viewer, frustrated and slightly confused. Personally, I cannot stand movies that do this. While I understand some stories are not meant to be resolved, It Comes At Night almost uses this tactic as an escape route rather than to just take the time and complete the story. I’m not saying they don’t give you enough for your mind to not connect the dots, but while some critics are saying that it’s an excellent suspense-horror and that a movie that doesn’t hold the audience’s hand should be applauded, I find myself not wanting to be lead through the film, but simply wanting a conclusion deserving of the tension and build up that was created throughout the movie.

 

Again, I raise the question; “Would I recommend this movie to anyone?” and at this point in time I can answer honestly and say, NO. However, if someone sees it on their own accord and wants to discuss, I believe it is a film that would benefit from two or more people that dialogue about its merits. I just cannot see myself suggesting seeing it to someone for the purpose of enjoyment. This previous statement conflicts me because while I appreciated long stretches of It Comes At Night and respect it for its realism I still left the theater somewhat disappointed in the finished product.

 

 

 

One thought on “It Comes At Night – Review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

